Monte Fort,Monte Fort Macau China
You are here: Home China Guide Macau Macau Attractions Monte Fort

Monte Fort

Lying to the east of the Ruins of St. Paul's, Monte Fort originally belonged to St. Paul's Church and was used to defend the church from the pirates. It later became solely a military fort.
It was constructed from 1617 and completed during the ruling years of Emperor Xizong in the Ming Dynasty. In history, Monte Fortress played a very important role in defending Macao against the invasion of Holland.

Monte Fort is square shaped bastion, and each side is about 100 meters long. The outside wall was built with rammed earth. The walls of the Monte Fort are around nine meters high. Besides, the walls had many cutouts which served as supports for the 32 cannons used to defend against foreign attacks. Moreover, the Monte Fort was equipped with a reservoir, warehouse and barracks. The storage space is big enough for housing two years’ ammunition and supplies.

Before 1740, Monte Fort was the residence of the Chief of Staff on City Defense and Superintendent of Macao, and later, it became a forbidden military zone. The barracks on Monte Fortress were replaced by a weather station until 1965. In 1966, it was opened to the public. However, the weather station building was replaced by the present Macao Museum between 1996 and 1998.

Monte Fort Notes

Admission Fee: Macau dollar 15

Opening Hours of the Monte Fort: 06:00-19:00 (May - Sep.), 07:00-18:00 (Oct. - the next Apr.)

Opening Hours of Macau Museum: 10:00-18:00 from Tuesday to Sunday

Bus Route: Bus No.8A, 17, 18, 19, 26