Last Updated on Friday, 27 May 2011 12:18
The western region of today's Liaoning Province is proved to be under the jurisdiction of Yan State in the Spring and Autumn Period, so here many relics of the Great Wall can be found. It is said that the wall of Yan State in Jianping County was the earliest Great Wall in Liaoning, which was originally called "earth dragon" or the "stone dragon" by the local inhabitants.
The Great Wall construction continued in Qin, Han, Northern Qi, Liao and Ming Dynasties. Substantial labor and money were put into the construction, which made Liaoning an area full of wall resource. Liaoning is proud to own the easternmost part of Great Wall, the Hushan Great Wall. To widespread surprise a recent discovery in Chinese archaeological history repudiates the earlier theory that considered Shanhaiguan Pass as the easternmost section of the Great Wall. In 1992, with the help of lots of history records and references, the archeologists have confirmed that the Hushan Great Wall in Liaoning province is the real east end of the huge Great Wall.
Nowadays most walls in Liaoning are historical ruins, scattered across the mountains and towns. Chinese government spares no effort to restore and protect these precious historical remains, with the hope of retaining their ancient and important magnificence.
Hushan Great Wall, built in the Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644) as the east starting spot of Great Wall of Ming , was located in Kuandian Manchu Autonomous County, Liaoning Province with the Yalu River to its south and Yuan River west.
Hushan Great Wall resembles a lying tiger with the main peak of 146.3 meters (480 feet) and covering an area of 4 square kilometers (1.5 squre miles), hence the name 'Tiger Mountain Great Wall'.
The construction of this section of Great Wall was mainly built with wood, earth and stones and lasted for about 150 years. Suffering from winds and rains for more than 500 years, Hushan Great Wall was greatly dilapidated. In 1992, the central government gave a full-scale repair to the wall. After the section was reconstructed, it has developed as a tourist area. Now, the renovated Hushan Great Wall includes 12 platforms and 3 Beacon Towers with a total length of 1,200 meters.
The ticket: ￥40
The best tourism time: all year round
Take bus No.215B at Dandong Railway Station.
Operation Hours of Bus No. 215 B:
06:30-15:30 (Dandong Railway Station);
07:40-16:40 (Hushan Great Wall)
Ticket Fare: ￥ 2.
Jiumenkou section of the Great Wall used to hold the only access between northern and central China, located on the border shared by Funing County of Hebei and Suizhong County of Liaoning provinces with a total length of 1,704 meters. This section of Great Wall was first built in Northern Qi and further expanded in 1381 during the Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644). It is 15 km from Shanhaiguan Pass and was famed as 'The First Pass East to Beijing'.
The name 'Jiumenkou' which means 'Entrance to Nine Gates' was caused by a nine-gate, 110-meter-long bridge sitting astride the Jiujiang River to regulate the flow and hold off any invading enemy. Each gate is 5 meters wide and an encircled city was installed on each end of the bridge. The local people refer to the pass as 'a row of stone piers'. The pass has suffered serious war damages, but retains its contours even today. In 1992, this spot was repaired and opened as a tourism resort.
The ticket: ￥60
The best tourism time: all year round
(1) Jiumenkou Great Wall is only 15 km from Shanhaiguan Pass, so visitors can take the mini buses from Shanhaiguan Pass in summer.
(2) In other seasons, visitors can rent a car to Jiumenkou. It cost about CNY 15 for a round-trip from Shanhaiguan to Jiumenkou.
(3) Visitors can also take the long-distance bus in Suizhong County to Lijiabu, and walk for about 1 km to Jiumenkou. The bus only departs at 12:00 and go back to Suizhou County at 06:00 next morning.
|< Prev||Next >|