You are here: Home Great Wall Shaanxi Great Wall

Shaanxi Great Wall


Share |

User Rating: / 0

  • Shaanxi Great Wall Facts


The Shaanxi section of the Great Wall is mainly distributed in Yulin, Yan'an and Weinan Cities. The total length stretches more than 1,056 miles. The walls are composed of city walls, terraces, barracks, beacon towers and watch posts. Most of them were built in Wei, Qin, Sui, and Ming Dynasties. All that remains of the original Great Wall is the main part made of rammed earth for the long history, natural disasters and human destruction. In history, Yulin Great Wall was famous and Zhenbeitai was known as the first tower on the Great Wall.


  • Yulin Great Wall

The Yulin Wall, north of Shaanxi, is located in the contiguous areas of Loess Plateau and the grasslands in Inner Mongolia. Throughout the ages, central China and the nomadic tribes ceaselessly fought for possession of this area of important strategic significance. The city was enclosed within a rectangle with five gates of which only the Eastern and Southern gates survive to this day. The outer brick of the Eastern Gate layer had fallen away and the inner core of tamped earth was exposed. It reminded us of the beacon towers in Dunhuang, where the local people had removed bricks to built their houses. Yulin city government has taken steps to ensure material from the Wall is not plundered in future. The ancient city had not seen too many changes and many old buildings and fortifications can still be seen.The ruins of beacon towers scattered along the Wall, not far from the city stand as silent witnesses to the continuity of the fortifications in the past.


  • Chang Le castle


This Ming castle dates from 1474 and had 37 integral beacon towers. The east gate is still visible with its weng-cheng, a small enclosure on its outer-side for protection. The west gate had been buried under the sand for very many years.The walls have been greatly damaged by the weather and the tamped earth interior is exposed.


  • Eighteen Frustum Towers

Shi Ba Dun was also named Eighteen Frustum Towers, as there was a formation of eighteen beacon towers of a particular design here. The Chinese word 'dun' means 'frustum' a geometrical term which when applied to a building means that it is rather like a pyramid without an apex or point.


  • Jian An Bu (Jian An castle)

This was an important castle on the Great Wall built in 1474 the Ming dynasty. It had gates to the east, north and south with enclosing walls. Now only the east and south gates remain.
The best tourism time: all year round


  • Zhen Bei Tai Tower

Zhen Bei Tai Tower is located on Mount Hongshan, five kilometers north of Yulin City. It was built in 1607 during the Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644) for the protection of the Hongshan Market Place where Mongol and Han people met to trade their goods.

Zhen Bei Tai Tower is a four-storied square tower, 30 meters high, measuring 320 meters around its base. There is a staircase between each storey to enable the soldiers to ascend to the top. There was a watch shed at the top of the tower from where the soldiers could receive and send signals but this collapsed during the Qing Dynasty (1644 - 1911).

The tower has been well restored and wins the reputation of 'The First Tower of the Great Wall'. A climb to the top provides visitors a panoramic view of the surrounding hills. The scene is one of desolation where vegetation is sparse and it is difficult to appreciate that this was once a scene of great activity. The deserts sands slowly swallow up the left Wall. There are the ruins of two small fortresses near Zhen Bei Tai. They were both protection for market trading places during the Ming Dynasty.

  • Travel tips:

The ticket: ¥20
The best tourism time: all year round
The traffic: Take Bus No. 3 or 11 from Yulin City;Visitors can also take a taxi there, it costs about ¥15